Skip to content

Well… what can I say?

September 1, 2009

Whereas I did not want to make a choice between friends at two different networking sites (you can guess which they are…) who refuse to have a profile at the other… And whereas I do not like to waste my time typing things out and posting them multiple times… I hereby deem this B.A.’s Blog.  Now no one has to log in to read it, and everyone can hear the terrifying tale of the busted Sable… and all of the other weird things that happen to me.  Lord help you all if I just start typing the things in my head…

Without further adieu… the story of my trip back to VA… taken from the last blog entry I made on my last blog…. with a bit more at the bottom to finish out the story…

–As some people know, I shipped half my stuff to VA as the transmission seemed to be going on my car, and we figured with less weight it might actually make it south.  Well… apparently the biggest problem was not the transmission, but the coolant system.

I was on 78 in PA about 4 mi from 81 when suddenly a big white puff of smoke came out from under my hood, and I watched the temperature needle shoot from about the middle of the gauge to WAY past the H.  I was able to pull my still probably overpacked car off to the side of the road, and a really nice guy named Shawn (who I met as I was dumping the rest of the coolant I had on me into the radiator reservoir to try to lower the engine temperature…)  helped me push my car a bit farther off the road and let me make phone calls from in his truck, which had air conditioning.– Most ironic part of this whole situation: Shawn works for a moving company, and was at that time towing everything someone else owned behind his truck.

–I called the state police first, and they never showed up.  Great, right?  Where precisely is my tax money GOING then?  Ok, so that’s not exactly true… three of them passed by going the other way.  One did actually turn around.  They pulled over to the side of the road behind my car, and without even thinking about stopping, pulled out into traffic and sped down the road.  Really helpful.– Shawn called a friend of his, and she said their contracts hadn’t been worked out yet.  I really hope that is not why they were not helpful, but, well, whatever.

–So the tow truck driver showed up 45 minutes later.  His name was Mike.  He was a little startled when he started to lift up the car, and all of the coolant that I had poured into my car to lower the temperature after I pulled it over came spilling out.  So he towed me to the Pep Boys in Harrisburg.

Sandy, the lady at the counter at the Pep Boys in Harrisburg, was nice enough to inform me that the part that busted on the car (a plastic piece behind the radiator with a 2″ pipe and a 1/4″ pipe coming out of it…) is a dealer part, and the dealership was probably not going to be open until Monday.  You know- Monday- the day I have to be at work in Norfolk at 10am.  Nice… just great.

So, after he got out of work, my dad drove up to Harrisburg, and we put all of my stuff in his car, and got him a rental car.  At this point in time it was 9pm on Friday, and I did not feel like driving all the way to VA.  So my dad and I stayed in a hotel room for the night, and left early the next morning.– (I owe a big thanks to the waitress at the Days Inn in Harrisburg for serving us burgers and fries when we showed up ten minutes before they were supposed to close while she was setting up for the next morning’s breakfast- I wish I had gotten her name…)

–It took about 8 hours to get from Harrisburg to Norfolk (as everyone on the road seemed to think it was a great day to either crash or break down… and it wasn’t even raining…). As I was exiting the HRBT (another hour of my life that I will never get back… but I should have known better there) my dad called to say that the car was fixed- apparently the dealer was open on Saturday.  So he went to pick up the car and was going to drive it for a while and see how all the other systems were running, and then either we would switch cars back, or he would sell mine and get a new one for him…

I got a call two days ago from my dad… he is driving the car to and from work, and is now feeling all of the transmission symptoms that I was feeling over the summer- so the guess is that the car is not going to last the year.  He’s looking for another one for himself. And in the meantime I have the space shuttle.  Or transformer… whatever you want to call it.  The mirrors auto-darken, there are different driver settings for the seat position and radio presets, the passenger can set a different temperature on their side of the car, the mph displays in the windshield, and the windshield wipers go off by themselves when they sense rain.

It’s a sweet car, and the most amazing part I think (besides that the AC works), is the seats are high enough that I can walk when I get out of the car after a long drive.

Oh- and PS- the space shuttle gets 26 mpg.  Compared to my old Sable which was getting 16 mpg… (but did not qualify for cash for clunkers because NEW it is SUPPOSED to get 25 mpg… yeah… ’cause 11 years later that is TOTALLY still going to be true…) anyway… 26 mpg is AWESOME!–

Ok, so now the update:
I was in VA for another week after the original posting of this excerpt, when I got another call from my dad.  Apparently the transmission (or one of the parts of it) finally gave on his way back from work.  So he had to drive in first gear the rest of the way home.  We do not live close.  Apparently the car has been passed on to a friend who is going to fix it if possible and let it become his daughter’s first car.  His daughter who I babysat when she was age 2…  and Yes- that actually does make me feel better about it all too…  If I could just remember where I put the spare keys…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lizzi permalink
    September 1, 2009 8:22 pm

    So excited you have a blog now… sorry the car failed. it belongs on the fail blog.

    glad you got safely to VA. I miss you tons

    hows the flooding?

  2. Jessie C permalink
    September 2, 2009 5:57 pm

    Is this daughter Danielle by any chance? if so, this frightens me, because I can’t picture her being old enough to drive. Sarah, yes. Danielle, no.

    yay for new blog thingy!

    • bachic permalink*
      September 3, 2009 10:31 pm

      Yes… well… it’s looking now like Sarah gets to drive the car- apparently it was a bit easier to fix than we thought, if what they think is wrong with it is wrong with it- around a $500 labor charge though, the sensor that went bad is behind the catalytic converter.

      I don’t know exactly what is going on with it… I just know that I need to find that spare key.

  3. Dak permalink
    September 2, 2009 7:08 pm

    Yay for new Blogs not related to any networking sites!!!
    🙂

    Mrs Dak

Leave a Reply

