Skip to content

Checking In… All of the things!

May 9, 2015
by

Wow. It’s May of 2015. Sometimes I feel like a time traveler, like I’m moving through life, and doing everything that needs to be done (sometimes too many things at once), and then I look up, and suddenly I can’t believe so much time has past.  For example, my last post was over a year ago.  I swear, I didn’t know a whole year had passed.  It doesn’t feel like a year passed. And as all of the projects I had been working on personally have kind of fallen by the wayside in that year, it would be only fair to let you know what I have been doing. If I can figure it out anyway…

When we last left off, I was sewing things. I am still able to do that, but I don’t do it as often as I would like.  At that time I was working at a ceramics studio, specifically managing it. That was an interesting job for a while, however I no longer do that. Right now I am in my second season as Hospitality Manager for the Virginia Arts Festival. I enjoy doing that. Actually, my first season doing hospitality started just before I dropped off the face of this blog. I also work as a Production Assistant and Event Lead for them for the last 3 seasons, also fun, and the rest of the reason why no one hears from me in April and May. For an example of why these jobs with the Arts Festival rock, here is a picture of me and my friends from Tangle this year, a Polyglot Theater production which had a run in Virginia Beach the first weekend of May through the Arts Festival.

2015-05-03 17.12.41

Last December I took a job as the Artist Liaison for the Virginia Symphony Orchestra. I really enjoy that job, though we are in the off season right now. I am seriously learning so much there, and it is really nice to be working with music again (I hadn’t really seen sheet music since high school chorus). I also occasionally work backstage at the Sandler Center for the Performing Arts. It’s a good time when I can get a gig.

Anyway, I’m not trying to make excuses, I honestly just forgot to continue posting, but those would be some of the things that pushed this blog out of my head, result being that you haven’t heard from me in a while. One of my friends at the Orchestra calls my series of jobs “filling out my non-profit bingo card”. I’m going to head out and figure out what to do with this site now, because I think it is time to take it in a different direction. Let’s all hope the universe continues to throw things my way, and sends some inspiration on what to do with this!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

